Roar

Georgia Coote designs for Lionheart

In Art on June 15, 2011 at 12:35 pm

I’ve been a fan of Georgia Coote‘s work for some time. We have worked together on little writing/art projects before and I knew she would create something beautiful, imaginative and perfect for Lionheart Magazine. As I have said before, I am adamant that the magazine is printed and not merely online – this here blog is the online bit – and I really wanted a pull out for the middle, so readers can tak it to their walls (be careful with blue tak on renting places!), or just look at it, or whatever. I think it’s a nice little addition to a magazine, and in fact there will be many bits you can snip and store away, or just keep the magazine as a whole, to flick through and use as a coffee mat. Georgia‘s design (above) will be one side of the pull out, then there will be another design on the other side, equally stunning. I am sure you will agree that it’s a wonderful pattern; pretty yet strong and just the sort of print style I adore. I wish I could turn it into wallpaper and plaster all my walls with the design. Lionheart intense!

Georgia is currently working as a freelance designer, running art workshops for many different community groups.


This animal baby suit pattern is very sweet.

“I aim to make art accessible for all, and to show people skills that they can later develop and continue to use. The workshops have a relaxing atmosphere and provide encouragement and inspiration within the group.”

“Some organisations I have worked with in the past include: SNAP, Maldon Mind,New Opportunities Havering, The YMCAand Chelmsford Mencap.”

Georgia also makes jewellery.


Lovely summer dress pattern here.

I really like her little ‘About Me’ on her website:
“Pretty floral teacups, Raymond Peynet Books, Men with beards (well, one in particular), The Cha Cha Cha, Vintage fabrics, Being a redhead, Mountainous slices of cheesecake, Al Green’s ‘LetsStay Together’, Surprise parcels in the post & Polka dots.

“I graduated from the Norwich School of Art and Design in 2006 after studying Contemporary Textile practices. Primarily inspired by pattern and the printing process, I am also inspired by conversational pattern design, a vintage colour palette and just about everything around me. I love to create quirky, warm designs that are uplifting and good for the soul. These designs can be applied to textiles, stationary, ceramics and all manner of surfaces. I live in Chelmsford, Essex with my graphic designer husband. He loves……. The smell of a new book, tinkering with technology, and a good hearty pie.”

Thank you Georgia!

xoxo

Leave a Reply

