Roar

bikes

In Active, Interviews on August 25, 2011 at 2:04 pm

I used to spend hours on my bike as a child, cycling around the village, exploring the country path by the river, and making dens or eating sweets on a bench; bikes festooned on the grass. Bikes make me think of times with a golden glow, an endless summer and wood pigeons cooing; going in for dinner when the sun leaves the sky and imagining cycling as far as my legs could take me. To adulthood, to my imagination’s reality and to adventure.

I’ve had a tumultuous relationship with fixed gear bikes. Started off thinking they’re interesting, then they frustrated me with their huge trendy associations and then… they mesmerised me with their frikkin beauty! Too much? No, seriously they’re such simple, personal beasts are those fixies. What’s more, there are so many different types of fixie lovers. From the whooshy zoomers dressed in lycra, to the boys with rolled up jeans and chino shorts. And there are girls too. Obviously. That said, I don’t ride a fixed wheel machine myself, I have a pretty hybrid, Viola. But I LOVE cycling, love, love, love being on bike, riding alone or with friends, it’s invigorating, liberating and good for you as well as the environment.

It also reminds me of being the carefree world of childhood, but with all the advantages of being an adult.

I’m also a fan of people who make things and follow their ambitions. So I was interested to watch BOIKZMOIND, a film by Gavin Strange. It’s all about the Bristol fixed gear scene. It started as a ten minute film and then organically grew.

“Local events put on by local riders started bringing like minded people together, cyclists from all walks of life, from hipster to hippy, father to son. All brought together by a love of a bare bones single geared machine. Alleycats, hill climbs, film nights, audax’s, polo matches.”

“It was at this point that I started interviewing these riders, delving into their reasons behind riding a bike with no gears in a city that’s made entirely of hills. Thats what I want this film to be, to answer the questions “What’s a fixed gear bike” and “So, what’s Bristol like then?” by giving an insight into the broad range of people that ride around and have fun in this city. Ultimately though, I just want to make a film that looks beautiful and will make you want to get outside on two wheels.”

I’ve watched the film, with my bike loving boyfriend (much more than me) and we both were inspired by the wheels on the screen. The music, obviously close and committed community, competitiveness, PRETTINESS, comical and insightful interviews and style. My very favourite component, are the words on real life friendships, bore from a love of something real and tangible. People going outside, whizzing through the streets and trees – spending time together.

BOIKZMOIND Trailer from Xynthetic on Vimeo.

An interview I think.

  1. Hi Helen!

    Found your blog via Cherry’s website, I really love your upbeat writing style, I shall definitely stop by again! I started my blog very recently, it’s a collection of lighthearted, humourous stories about a world in retail, I’d love for you to come and have a read!

    Cosa x

Leave a Reply

