Roar

Quincy Lampshades at the Lionheart Launch Party

In Events on December 6, 2011 at 8:46 am

Matryoshkas Cream - Lionheart Magazine - Quincy Lampshades
Quincy Lampshades (One of my favourites)

The Lionheart Magazine Launch Party is taking place on Sunday at 40 Alfred Place, Bristol, from 1pm – 10pm. Hopefully, the day will be filled with copious amounts of Lionheart love! However, as well as Lionheart Magazine for sale – HOORAY! There will be a mini market, talks, live illustration, beautiful cakes, drinks and fresh, homemade pizzas. Then in the evening, music, (more) cakes and Lionheart chatter. The launch promises to bring together wonderful creatives – readers, writers, illustrators, artists and the general Lionhearted population. All are welcome, just tweet @helsmartin/ @lionheartmag, say ‘yes’ on facebook, or email lionheartmagazine@gmail.com. Anyone who has a roar in their Lionheart, come along!

As I mentioned, from 1pm – 6pm, there will be a mini market downstairs, where a number of hand selected artists will be selling their wares. One of these, is the wonderful lampshade-creating extraordinaire, Ruth McAllister, of Quincy Lampshades. As well as selling her beautiful shades, Ruth will also be demonstrating how to make a lampshade, live, before the Lionheart audience. All I know is, she’s bring an ironing board.

Strawberry Dots - Quincy Lampshades- Lionheart Magazine

I asked Ruth a few questions in anticipation of Sunday:
Hello, could you introduce yourself please?
My name is Ruth McAllister, aka The Lampshade Lady, from Quincy Lampshades. I make bright, bold and ballsy lampshades.

How did you discover Lionheart Magazine?
Exploring the Twitterverse, I spotted Lionheart Magazine’s call for help. Thinking I could assist with a spot of proofreading (I used to be an editor in my life before lampshades), I got in touch. But you were having none of that – you wanted me for my stay-at-home-mum to running-a-small-business story.

Kiku Bouf - Lampshades Lionheart Magazine Launch Quincy Lampshades Lionheart MagazineQuincy Lampshades Lionheart Magazine

Where are you coming from to be at the Lionheart Launch Party?
I will be travelling all the way from LA to attend the Lion party, via Bath and North Somerset.

What will you be doing/selling at the launch?
Where else but a magazine launch party would you expect to get a lampshade-making demo? I’ll be cutting, sticking and rolling PVC and fabric to show you guys how easy, quick and satisfying it is to make your own lampshade. (But if that doesn’t grab you, why not just buy one instead? I’ll have an armful of lampshades for sale.)

What are you looking forward to in Lionheart Magazine?
So looking forward to seeing EVERYTHING in Lionheart Magazine. Though I will, of course, flick straight to my article. I’m desperate to check out all the illustrations too.

Follow Ruth’s blog here – I love her ‘Manky Lampshades’ regular feature, the very worst lampshade wins one of Ruth‘s beautiful lampshade designs. Ruth can be found on Facebook and Twitter.

We will be auctioning off the demo lampshade, in aid of Born Free. Lovely!

Leave a Reply

